AP Scholars Named

AP Scholars Named 1 thumbnail135551
AP Scholars Named 2 thumbnail135552
In recognition of their exceptional achievement on national AP exams, 85 Westhampton Beach students have earned the title of Advanced Placement Scholar. 

In total, 40 students were named AP Scholars, 19 earned the recognition of AP Scholar with Honor and 26 were named AP Scholars with Distinction, of whom four were also honored as National AP Scholars. 

To earn Scholar recognition, students are required to score a 3 or higher on three or more AP exams; for Scholar with Honor, students must earn a 3.25 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of those exams; for the Scholar with Distinction award, students must receive an average score of 3.5 on all AP exams and grades of 4 or higher on five or more of those exams; and for National AP Scholar designation, students must receive an average score of 4 on eight or more exams. 

The Westhampton Beach School District congratulates the following students: 

AP Scholars
Alex Alford, Lola Anderson, Clayton Arcuri, Jessie Boskamp, Molly Brennan, Andrew Caponi, Ian Chitty, Christopher Daleo, Rieve Delisle, Ellen Floegel, Miranda Forney, Danielle Freda, Casey Gallagher, John Hoffman, Cooper Kim, Elizabeth Knierieman, Matthew Leotta, Alicia Linder, Evan Lockwood, Hade Lopez, Kieran Lynch, Aaron Manowitz, Kellen Meade, Marley Merrihew, Emma Monastero, Dylan Nijankin, Mario Ortiz, Emma Payes, Niall Regan, Mia Seitles, Marley Slotkin, Isabelle Smith, Julia Smith, Avery Solomon, Coady Sumwalt, Isabella Tobin, Natalia Vega, Emily Vignieri, Julia Weeks and Courtney Wenzel
AP Scholars with Honor
Emily Arpino, William Barr-Forget, Sofia Brizius, Tristan Coen, Jennifer Curran, Halle Dixon, Luke Farnan, John Halloran, Jade Jackey, Joshua Kaplan, James O’Neill, Jane Paulson, Edona Popi, Gage Rubio, Grace Schmelzer, Alexandra Schurek, John Shannon, Emma Strebel and Hanna Tufano 

AP Scholars with Distinction
Jasmine Agme, Sophie Cline, Jacob Croce, Richard Federico, John Paul Ferrantino, Rachel Frank, Jacqueline Glaser, Yunushan Gulsen, Jade Hawkesworth, Jake Hoffman, Kay Horak, Kathleen Kelly, Donovan Kerns, Matthew Lambert, Kathryn Massey, Eric McBride, Jocelyn McNamara, Jason Montagna, Spencer Moyle, Ellen Murphree, Nicholas Murphy, Rose Peruso, Siobhan Pesce, Pierce Rosen-Keith, Ashley Steedman and Sophie Waszkelewicz

National AP Scholars
John Paul Ferrantino, Kay Horak, Kathleen Kelly and Pierce Rosen-Keith

Seniors Commended in National Merit Program

Seniors Commended in National Merit Program thumbnail135549
Seniors Commended in National Merit Program thumbnail135550
Eight Westhampton Beach High School seniors have been recognized as Commended Students in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program as a result of their outstanding scores on the qualifying exam. 

The seniors are among 34,000 students throughout the nation to earn this distinction and be recognized for their “exceptional academic promise.” To earn the title, they placed among the top 5% of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the PSAT. 

The Westhampton Beach School District extends its congratulations to the following students: Sofia Brixius, Sophie Cline, Kathleen Kelly, Eric McBride, Jocelyn McNamara, Nicholas Murphy, Siobhan Pesce and Pierce Rosen-Keith.

Senior Earns National Merit Semifinalist Title

Senior Earns National Merit Semifinalist Title thumbnail135547
WHBMerit.jpg thumbnail135548
The Westhampton Beach School District is pleased to announce that Westhampton Beach High School student Kay Horak has been selected as a semifinalist in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program. 

Horak, a senior, is among the approximately 16,000 semifinalists nationwide who qualified for the honor based on their high PSAT scores. She will continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million.

Horak, who intends to pursue a science-related field in college, is president of her school’s Key Club and a member the National Honor Society and jazz ensemble. She also participates in her school’s theater productions and volunteers at the Quogue Wildlife Refuge.

Up Close and Personal

1 thumbnail133692
2 thumbnail133693
3 thumbnail133694
Students in the Westhampton Beach School Districts got up close and personal with a baby great white shark during a unique lesson on Sept. 10.

During the lesson, science teacher Matthew Berkhout laid out the shark, which was recently found deceased on the shores of Fire Island, on a table for students to examine. Berkhout described the anatomy of the shark, answered questions and discussed the field research he conducts with his team as part of the South Fork Natural History Museum and Nature Center’s (SOFO) Shark Research and Education Program.

The shark will soon be shipped to NOAA Fisheries’ Narragansett Laboratory in Narragansett, Rhode Island for further analysis. 

Sparking Summer Research

Sparking Summer Research photo thumbnail133048
Six Westhampton Beach High School students have been collecting and analyzing data on a variety of subjects as part of Brookhaven National Laboratory’s SPARK summer research program. The students attend the program twice a week and will culminate their scientific research with a poster presentation on Aug. 15. The projects include “Microplastics in the Atmosphere” by Lola Anderson; “Elemental Composition of Dinosaur Fossils” by Matthew Daleo, Jade Hawkesworth and Evan Lockwood; “Heavy Metal Contamination of Kelp Species” by Keiran Lynch; and “Microplastics in Drinking Water” by Eric McBride.